Book Review: Gilded Cage

Gilded Cage Book Cover Gilded Cage
Vic James
Del Rey Books
14th February 2017
368

For readers of Victoria Aveyard and Kiera Cass comes a darkly fantastical debut set in a modern England where magically gifted aristocrats rule--and commoners are doomed to serve. NOT ALL ARE FREE. NOT ALL ARE EQUAL. NOT ALL WILL BE SAVED. Our world belongs to the Equals--aristocrats with magical gifts--and all commoners must serve them for ten years. But behind the gates of England's grandest estate lies a power that could break the world. A girl thirsts for love and knowledge. Abi is a servant to England's most powerful family, but her spirit is free. So when she falls for one of their noble-born sons, Abi faces a terrible choice. Uncovering the family's secrets might win her liberty--but will her heart pay the price? A boy dreams of revolution. Abi's brother, Luke, is enslaved in a brutal factory town. Far from his family and cruelly oppressed, he makes friends whose ideals could cost him everything. Now Luke has discovered there may be a power even greater than magic: revolution. And an aristocrat will remake the world with his dark gifts. He is a shadow in the glittering world of the Equals, with mysterious powers no one else understands. But will he liberate--or destroy?

I’LL BE HONEST HERE MY CUCUMBERS. I am not even in the mood to write this review simply because of how utterly uderwhelmed I was by this book. SO MUCH DISAPPOINTMENT FOR ME. Oh dear. And I always feel so bad about being disappointed.

However, for those of you who like a lot of political intrigue and hints of magic, this book is for you.

If you are looking for lots of fantasy and magic and otherworldliness, stay away.

LIST TIME, BABY.

img_20161112_112058

what-i-liked

  • The concept. Basically the family lives in a world where slavery is alive and well, but for literally everyone who does not have magical powers. You are required to complete 10 years of slavery  in your life at a time of your choosing. 10 YEARS. It sounds so horrible it had me clapping my hands with glee by the first mention of it.
  • The Club’s mission in the Millmoor Slavetown. They are all about helping people outside of the law, kind of like a version of Robin Hood. I’m all for Robin Hoods.
  • THE PRETTY COVER. I know it is less than orthodox to say this GET OFF MY CASE. BUT HAVE YOU SEEN IT?? I can’t help but wonder what the naked hardback would look like!!! (PERVY MUCH?)
  • I hate that I have to say this, but that’s where this list stops D:

img_20161124_104026

what-i-didnt-like

  • So. Much. Politics. My brain can’t handle who is supposed to be chancellor or who was king of what and history and political games and political chess pieces and who is supposed to do what when and why and AAAHHH STAAAHHHPP. This was one of the biggest reasons I couldn’t get that into it AND IT TOOK ME FOREVER TO FINISH.
  • The weird, unnatural and strange romance??? I didn’t think it fit at all. All of a sudden there was kissing even though there had only been a small hint of feelings on his side and I was #confuse. And then at the end they were acting as though they were being parted after having a steamy romance but it was literally two kisses and awkwardness. #no.
  • IS THIS EVEN YA??? There was a NAKED MAN ON A LEASH WHO WAS BEING FORCED TO ACT LIKE A DOG WITH MAGIC. Don’t get me wrong. I’m all for this kind of thing. Brutality. Torture. Killing. Stabbiness. I LOVE IT ALL. But I also think there is a limit when it comes to YA? Some unsuspecting 13 year old could pick this up and be scarred for life. #justsayin. Also the story behind why he was ‘condemned’. So extreme and not for young’un’s minds. (AM I AN OLD FART OFFICIALLY??)
  • All in all I felt really detached from the characters. This is not a good thing in pretty much all cases.

img_20161109_155702

you-may-speak-my-beauties

Have you read this?? Will you be reading it? What are your expectations/what did you think??

Share

One thought on “Book Review: Gilded Cage

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge